Title IV, Part B – 21st Century Learning Centers


The purpose of the Mississippi Department of Educations’ Title IV, Part B, 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) Program is to provide opportunities for communities to establish or expand activities in community learning centers that:

•   provide academic enrichment opportunities for children, particularly for students who attend high-poverty and low-performing schools, to meet state and local student standards in core academic subjects

•   offer students a broad array of enrichment activities that can complement their regular academic programs, and

•   offer literacy and other educational services to the families of participating children

These centers can operate before or after school or any time the regular school day is not in session.

Use of Funds

•   Remedial education activities and academic enrichment learning programs, including providing additional assistance to students to allow the students to improve their academic achievement;

•   Mathematics and science education activities;

•   Arts and music education activities;

•   Entrepreneurial education programs;

•   Tutoring services (including those provided by senior citizen volunteers) and mentoring programs;

•   Programs that provide after-school activities for limited English proficient students that emphasize language skills and academic achievement;

•   Recreational activities;

•   Telecommunications and technology education programs;

•   Expanded library service hours;

•   Programs that promote parental involvement and family literacy;

•   Programs that provide assistance to students who have been truant, suspended, or expelled, to allow the students to improve their academic achievement; and,

•   Drug and violence prevention programs, counseling programs, and character education programs.


Any public or private organization is eligible to apply for a 21st CCLC grant. Examples of agencies and organizations now eligible under the 21st CCLC Program include, but are not limited to, non-profit agencies, city or county government agencies, faith-based organizations, institutions of higher education, and for-profit corporations. An “eligible entity” means a local education agency (LEA), school, community-based organization, another public or private entity, or a consortium of two or more of such agencies, organizations, or entities. The statute encourages eligible organizations to collaborate with local education agencies (LEAs) when applying for funds. Priority is given to those serving students who attend Priority, Focus, or Approaching Target schools (2.5 points), to those serving students who attend schools located in geographical areas underrepresented by 21st CCLC programs. (2.5 points), to those submitting a proposal written to include Middle and/or High School students (2.5 points), and to those submitting a proposal that contains an evidence-based bullying program (2.5 points).

Award Funding and Periods

Legislation allows states to award grants for three years and not more than five years. Mississippi funds programs for five years on a degrading scale formula contingent upon proper implementation of the proposed project, completion and submission of all required documentation and future congressional appropriations. Recipients will receive funding at 100% for the first two years of the program, 80% of their original funding in year three, 60% in year four, and 40% in year five with a required match.